In Beaufortain, above Lac de Roselend and at the foot of Roc du Vent, we find Caroline and Didier at the Les Moillettes mountain pasture at an altitude of 2000m. At the Grésillon chalet, the view is simply magical.

At the top of their mountain pasture, nestles their second family chalet. Caroline's grandparents already came to the mountain pastures on this mountain and lived part of the summer in this chalet with their employees. The animals (dairy cows, pigs, calves, horses…) were in the stable on the ground floor while the mountaineers lived above. As the name “Grésillon” suggests, the area is subject to the vagaries of thunderstorms and lightning has already damaged this chalet. But the determination of this family and the desire to keep traditions alive, have led them to completely revamp this second alpine chalet. The life of a climber is in their blood because it is a whole family affair.

As many can tell, this is the perfect setting to work in. We even hear that it is " the most beautiful office in the world ". But life in the mountain pastures is also very harsh. For our producers as for their beautiful tarines, it is necessary to know how to tame the slope to maintain these beautiful mountains and to produce good milk for the famous Summer Beaufort. The maintenance of these mountains is essential to continue to exploit the alpine pastures. The cows graze the slopes but it is also necessary to maintain the tracks in order to be able to mount the mobile milking machine as close as possible to these beautiful ones. The producers are also working to cut the arches, bushes which very quickly invade the mountains and therefore limit the grazing areas. Formerly, these thickets of green alder used in bundles allowed mountaineers to heat the cauldron for the manufacture of Beaufort and the stems were used to make brooms.

But the work in the pastures does not stop there. The specifications of the AOP Beaufort force these producers to respect a certain fodder autonomy. This is why haymaking is also done on part of the pasture, where the slope is less pronounced.

For Caroline, the growing passion, she will no longer see herself spending a summer far from these tarines and these beautiful mountains. Having gone on an internship for a few months in Quebec during her agricultural training, she quickly understood that she could not stay a single summer away from her family and these mountain pastures. Installed today with her father Didier, she delivers the milk of these tarines to the Beaufortain dairy cooperative summer. They will come back down in the fall towards the Haute-Tarentaise where their daughters will spend the winter warm in the barn. They will then deliver their milk to the Coopérative Laitière de Haute-Tarentaise.

The summer is not over and they are still going to take full advantage of these grandiose landscapes, the fresh air and the passion for the pastures that animate them.

Instants Beaufort are events not to be missed all summer long to meet Beaufort producers and share a special moment with them, as close as possible to their herd. This Thursday, August 19, 2021, no less than 120 curious people attended the meeting and had a rewarding experience perched above the Cormet de Roselend. A day of exchange and tasting while waiting for the milking. Instants Beaufort are spread over all 3 valleys of the production area: Beaufortain valley / Val d'Arly, Tarentaise and Maurienne.

Discover the Entrus mountain pasture, near the Col du Prés and the Alpage des Arolles which has been producing its Beaufort Chalet d'Alpage !

Many thanks to Beaufort Defense Union to offer us these appointments every summer.


More Articles

#News

100 years since the first ascent of the Pierra Menta

On the occasion of the centenary, mountaineers from both sides of the valley met on Saturday July 9, 2022, to celebrate [...]

#News

5 activities to do around the lakes: nature and freshness guaranteed

Do you want to escape the heat wave, the crowded beaches and recharge your batteries in the heart of nature? This summer, you will find what you are looking [...]

#News

Arêches-Beaufort, land of Gravel

The Beaufortain is a magnificent playground for Gravel with a full range of surfaces: small roads with little traffic, beautiful [...]

Dans le Beaufortain, au-dessus du Lac de Roselend et au pied du Roc du Vent, nous retrouvons Caroline et Didier à l’alpage Les Moillettes à 2000m d’altitude. Au chalet de Grésillon, le panorama est tout simplement féérique.

Au sommet de leur alpage, se niche leur deuxième chalet familial. Les grands-parents de Caroline venaient déjà en alpage sur cette montagne et vivaient une partie de l’été dans ce chalet avec leurs salariés. Les animaux (vaches laitières, cochons, veaux, chevaux…) étaient dans l’étable au rez-de-chaussée tandis que les alpagistes vivaient au-dessus. Comme le nom « Grésillon » l’indique, le secteur est sujet aux caprices des orages et la foudre a déjà fait des dégâts sur ce chalet. Mais la détermination de cette famille et l’envie de faire perdurer les traditions, les ont amenés à retaper entièrement ce deuxième chalet d’alpage. La vie d’alpagiste, ils l’ont dans le sang car c’est toute une histoire de famille.

Comme beaucoup peuvent le dire, c’est le cadre parfait pour travailler. On entend même que c’est « le plus beau bureau du monde ». Mais la vie en alpage est aussi très rude. Pour nos producteurs comme pour leurs belles tarines, il faut savoir dompter la pente pour entretenir ces belles montagnes et produire du bon lait pour le fameux Beaufort d’été. L’entretien de ces montagnes est primordial pour continuer d’exploiter les alpages. Les vaches pâturent les pentes mais il faut également entretenir les pistes pour pouvoir monter la machine à traire mobile au plus près de ces belles. Les producteurs s’attèlent également à couper les arcosses, buissons qui envahit très vite les montagnes et limitent donc les zones de pâtures. Autrefois, ces fourrés d’aulnes verts utilisés en fagots permettaient aux alpagistes de chauffer le chaudron pour la fabrication du Beaufort et les tiges servaient à faire des balais.

Mais le travail en alpage ne s’arrête pas là. Le cahier des charges de l’AOP Beaufort contraint ces producteurs à respecter une certaine autonomie fourragère. C’est pourquoi, le travail de fenaison se fait également sur une partie de l’alpage, là où la pente est le moins prononcée.

Pour Caroline, la passion grandissante, elle ne se verrai plus passer un été loin de ces tarines et de ces belles montagnes. Etant partie en stage quelques mois au Québec pendant sa formation agricole, elle comprit très vite qu’elle ne pourrait pas rester un seul été loin de sa famille et de ces alpages. Installée aujourd’hui avec son papa Didier, elle livre le lait de ces tarines à la Coopérative Laitière du Beaufortain l’été. Ils redescendront à l’automne du côté de la Haute-Tarentaise où leurs belles passeront l’hiver au chaud dans l’étable. Ils livreront ensuite leur lait à la Coopérative Laitière de Haute-Tarentaise.

L’été n’est pas fini et ils vont encore profités pleinement de ces paysages grandioses, du grand air et de cette passion de l’alpage qui les animent.

Les Instants Beaufort sont des rendez-vous à ne manquer tout l’été pour aller à la rencontre des producteurs de Beaufort et partager avec un moment particulier avec eux, au plus prés de leur troupeau. Ce jeudi 19 août 2021, ce sont pas moins de 120 curieux qui ont répondu présents au rendez-vous et passer une expérience enrichissante perché au dessus du Cormet de Roselend. Une journée de d’échange et dégustation en attendant la traite. Les Instants Beaufort sont répartis sur l’ensemble des 3 vallées de la zone de production : vallée du Beaufortain/Val d’Arly, Tarentaise et Maurienne.

Découvrez également l’alpage de l’Entrus, proche du col du Prés et l’Alpage des Arolles qui produit depuis cette année son Beaufort Chalet d’Alpage !

Un grand merci au Syndicat de Défense du Beaufort pour nous offrir ces rendez-vous chaque été.


Plus d'articles

#Actualités

Les sommets du Beaufortain illustrés

Un jeune graphiste illustre les principaux sommets des Alpes et bien entendu le Beaufortain ne lui a pas échappé. Il propose une toile de la Pierra [...]

#Actualités

25e Salon du Goût : une réunion de saveurs

Le Beaufortain, concentré des goûts et des saveurs montagnardes, on n’en doutait pas ! Mais saviez-vous que son emblème, le fromage beaufort [...]

#Actualités

En équilibre au dessus du Lac de Roselend

Dans le Beaufortain, un groupe d’aventuriers joue aux équilibristes au dessus du vide. Un court-métrage d’aventure proposant un [...]